Skip to main content
site header image H-SC homepage link Library homepage link

Welcome to the Walter M. Bortz III Library.: Research Help

Online Research Resources

LibGuides

LibGuides are helpful online subject guides on a variety of library and research topics.

Research Databases

Bortz Library has an extensive number of online research databases for finding journal, magazine, or newspaper articles, images, music, historical documents, and more. The library subscribes to many EbscoHost resources, including Academic Search Complete, ATLA Religion, and Historical Abstracts. Other holdings include JSTOR, Project Muse, Britannica Online, Early English Books Online, EconLit, PsycInfo, ARTstor, and Wilson Omnifile.

View a searchable list of Research Databases from A-Z or a list of databases by subject.

Ebsco Discovery Service

The library also subscribes to the Ebsco Discovery Service, or EDS. EDS allows the user to search multiple research databases at one time, regardless of vendor, and includes all of the library's online catalog holdings - books, e-books, videos, etc.

WorldCat Local

WorldCat Local offers single-search-box access to more than 800 million items from Bortz Library and other library collections around the world. Items held in Bortz Library are identified for the user, with links to the library's online catalog for holding information and availability. Items available in other libraries, and eligible for interlibrary loan request, are included in the results and sorted by location, with the closest libraries to Hampden-Sydney College appearing first.

CONTACT the College
Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943
(434) 223-6000
Forming good men and good citizens since 1776.
© 2016 - 2017
Emergencies