Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Library Databases
The library's databases are your source for scholarly and academic articles!
Bortz Library subscribes to dozens of academic research databases, covering a wide array of subject matter. These databases provide access to articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Use the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box below to search through all of the library's databases at once, or click on the title of a particular database from the list below to search through just one database. Each database in the list has been included on this guide for its subject coverage and relevance.
Search All Databases
Recommended Databases
For more focused research, try searching in some of the individual databases listed below. Please see a Reference Librarian at the desk on the second floor of the library if you have any questions. We'll be happy to provide more individualized research assistance with your chosen topics.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I - XV; Business IV; Global Plants; Hebrew Journals; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health; Security Studies; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; Sustainability Collection; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Mathematics and Statistics; and 19th Century British Pamphlets.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThe Standard Collection provides access to the full text of over 300 scholarly journals of university presses such as the Johns Hopkins University Press.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCovers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. Recommended for research in Women's and Gender Studies.
Electronic Journals
Examples of individual online journals on topics related to men and masculinity:
- Psychology of Men and Masculinity, 2000-present
- Journal of Men's Studies, 2004-present
- Gender and History, 1998-present
- International Journal of Men's Health, 2004-present
- Journal of Men, Masculinities and Spirituality, 2007-present
Google Scholar
To expand your search beyond the Hampden-Sydney Collections, search Google Scholar for articles and book citations. Keep in mind that you will not always be able to link to the full-text article or complete book.
Web Links
- American Men's Studies AssociationThe American Men’s Studies Association advances the critical study of men and masculinities by encouraging the development of teaching, research and clinical practice in the field of men’s studies.
- Michael Kimmel - Professional WebsiteLists Dr. Kimmel's biography, works, and news.
- Faculty Profile for Dr. Michael MessnerIncludes selected publications and a link to open his curriculum vitae.