Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Search Tips
When searching for public policy resources, either in the library's databases and catalog or online, try using some of the following related terms in combination with keywords that match your topic:
Bills Standards Proposals Protocol
Position Papers Regulations Policy Briefs Recommendations
White Papers Legislation Guidelines Laws
Remember to put any words that should be searched as a phrase in quotation marks! For example, search "position papers" instead of position papers.
Resources
The following academic journals are accessible through Bortz Library's database subscriptions. The links below will take you out to online databases such as PsycNet, ABI/INFORM, Academic Search Complete, and more. Look for a "search within this publication" link to search for specific articles within the journal.
- Psychology, Public Policy, & LawFocus on empirical coverage of psychological science to law and public policy. Published by the American Psychological Association. Full text coverage 1995 - present.
- Journal of Occupational Health PsychologyPublishes theory, research, and public policy articles in occupational health psychology, an interdisciplinary field representing a broad range of backgrounds, interests, and specializations. Full text coverage 1996 - present.
- Journal of Public PolicyAccess provided through ProQuest's ABI/INFORM Complete database.
- Public policy researchPeer reviewed coverage of key developments in public policy. The "left-leaning" journal of the Institute for Public Policy Research. Primary focus on UK, covers the EU and the USA as well.
- Science & Public PolicyProvides information on public policies for science, technology & innovation, & on their implications for other public policies. Full text coverage 2003 - present.
- Poverty & Public PolicyFocuses on poverty, income distribution, and welfare programs around the globe. Full text coverage 2012 - present.
To expand your search beyond specific journals, try searching in any of the library databases listed below.
- Use the database's search filters to expand or narrow your search
- Try using the database subject search feature or thesaurus to find additional search terms
- Check the references of relevant articles to find additional articles on your topic
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Coverage from 1923 - present. Recommended for Economics and Business research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycArticles is a database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals with current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century. This collection provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field and is a useful resource for psychology researchers and students.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo focuses on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature. It is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines—from the historical to the cutting edge. PsycInfo includes journal articles and book chapters covering specific research methodologies, such as clinical case reports, empirical studies and literature reviews.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly business database, providing bibliographic and full text content. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. Recommended for Economics and Business research.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowOnline resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Recommended for Education research.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Recommended for Environmental Science research.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
14,000 authoritative sources including the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Recommended for finding news, and Economics and Business research.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides over 400 full text publications. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title is indexed in PsycINFO. Updated daily. Recommended for Psychology research.
- Statista
Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources, and provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
- Global Public Policy ReportTrade publication from the International Council of Shopping Centers (global trade association for shopping centers). Full text coverage 2006 - present.