LibGuides: HIST 499: Travelers in Colonial Southeast Asia: Finding Scholarly Articles

Search the library's databases for scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles, recent research, and in-depth analysis by experts.

Scholarly Journals - Best Bets

Journal of Asian Studies
Features original research and analytical papers on Asian Studies.
Critical Asian Studies
Aims to develop a humane & knowledgeable understanding of Asian societies & their efforts to maintain cultural integrity & to confront problems, & also, to create alternatives to the prevailing trends in scholarship on Asia.
International Journal of Asian Studies
The Indonesian Journal of Southeast Asian Studies
The Indonesian Journal of Southeast Asian Studies ISSN 2580-6580 (Print) 2597-9817 (Online) is an academic, open access, and double blind reviewed journal about Southeast Asian societies and cultures. Founded in 2017 at the Center for Southeast Asian Social Studies (CESASS) Universitas Gadjah Mada, Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

Databases - Best Bets

Head over to the library's A-Z List of Online Databases to search through a specific database, browse through our Databases by Subject, or select one of the databases listed below to begin your research:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I - XV; Business IV; Global Plants; Hebrew Journals; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health; Security Studies; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; Sustainability Collection; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Mathematics and Statistics; and 19th Century British Pamphlets.
JSTOR
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Recommended for History research.
EbscoHost. VIVA
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
VIVA
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
The Standard Collection provides access to the full text of over 300 scholarly journals of university presses such as the Johns Hopkins University Press.
Project Muse. VIVA
Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries.
Also includes a digitised version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739

Database Search Tips

To search through all of the library databases at once, head over to the Library Catalog and select the Databases tab on the search results page (see screenshot below). This is where you will find scholarly articles, newspaper articles, book reviews, ebooks, and more.

Use Filters to Refine Search Results

Look for:

Full Text: this will limit results to items that you can read right away through our subscriptions
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles: limits to scholarly articles

All databases should have filters (like those shown above) on the search results page that will help you narrow down - or expand - your search results.

Sample Scholarly Articles

To find the following scholarly articles, we:

Searched In: All library databases

Search Terms: Southeast Asia Imperialism

Filters Applied: Full Text, Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed

Number of Results: 388 (1186 results found before applying filters)

Sample Articles (pulled from results list):