Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Databases
The library's databases are your source for scholarly and academic articles!
Bortz Library subscribes to dozens of academic research databases, covering a wide array of subject matter. These databases provide access to articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Use the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box below to search through all of the library's databases at once, or click on the title of a particular database from the list below to search through just one database. Each database in the list has been included on this guide for its subject coverage and relevance.
Search All Databases
You can also browse through specific academic journal titles in the library's collections. Click on the links below to browse through issues of these two journals.
Subject-Specific Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
- America History & Life This link opens in a new windowThe definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910. Recommended for History research.
- Dissertations and Theses Full-Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, full-text source for doctoral dissertations and theses.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn index to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Recommended for History research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I - XV; Business IV; Global Plants; Hebrew Journals; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health; Security Studies; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; Sustainability Collection; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Mathematics and Statistics; and 19th Century British Pamphlets.
- New York Times - TimesMachine This link opens in a new windowThe complete archive of The New York Times with more than 13 million articles total. You must have a current New York Times Site Pass in order to access certain articles and date ranges. You can obtain a pass using the link for New York Times Site License, also found in the A-Z Databases list.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Recommended for Government and Foreign Affairs research.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThe Standard Collection provides access to the full text of over 300 scholarly journals of university presses such as the Johns Hopkins University Press.