Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Did You Know...
The University of Virginia Library is a Regional Depository Library, and their government document collections are accessible to HSC students, faculty, and staff via Interlibrary Loan!
Commonwealth of Virginia - Selected Web Resources
Through the State Publications Depository Program (established in 1981), the Library of Virginia collects and distributes publications to designated depository libraries around the state and maintains a digital repository for electronic government publications. Many state government publications are available through the Library of Virginia, or through other State Depository Libraries. Below you will find links to the Library of Virginia and other State Depository Libraries.
- Library of VirginiaThe Library of Virginia houses most comprehensive collection of Virginia state publications in the area and is located about a mile from Cabell Library at 800 E. Broad Street. The staff welcomes visitors to the Library. If you plan to visit, you may want to search the LVA Catalog first.
- State Documents Depository LibrariesThrough the administration of the State Publications Depository Program, citizens will be ensured continued access to state publications, regardless of geographical location in the Commonwealth. The Program ensures the availability of state government publications in library collections throughout the state.
- Virginia State DocumentsVirginia State Documents is a list of publications currently in print and available to the public from agencies of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is compiled from reports submitted to the Library of Virginia by agencies, departments, divisions, and institutions or branches of the state government.
Additional government documents from the Commonwealth of Virginia can be found below. These selected web resources include searchable databases, annual reports, legislative resources, etc.
- Virginia General AssemblyOnline portal to the Commonwealth's state legislature. Find information on Virginia's Senate and House, state budget, regulations, legislative agencies, and more.
- virginia.gov - Official Website of the Commonwealth of VirginiaThe official website of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The site includes a comprehensive alphabetical list of all state agencies.
- Virginia's Legislative Information System (LIS)Search for bills and resolutions, state budget information, meeting schedules, committee members, and more. Bills may be browsed by subject using the subject index, or searched directly.
- Virginia Administrative CodeProvides a searchable database of state agency rules and regulations. It is divided into 24 titles, and then agencies, chapters, and sections. Regulations initially appear in The Virginia Register of Regulations.
- Virginia General Assembly Publications2014 - Present. Browsable selection of legislative publications from the Virginia General Assembly.
- Annual Reports of the Attorney General (1883– ) (Attorney General of Virginia)With some exceptions, the Attorney General has published Annual Reports each year from 1836 to the present. Particular exceptions include certain years during the Civil War and early Reconstruction. The Office of the Attorney General offers digital copies of Annual Reports from the late 1800s to the present.
- Opinions of the Attorney General (July 1976 - present)Opinions issued before 1996 may be found in the Annual Reports posted on the Annual Reports page.
Historic Government Documents
- Historic Virginia DocumentsDocuments related to Virginia history, from the 16th century to the present. Available through the Library of Virginia.
- Virginia Government RecordsSearch or browse through collections of historic Virginia government documents, available through the Library of Virginia.
- The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia (1885–1918)Index of entries mostly in the House journals and partly in the Senate journals, including: resolutions, documents, reports, communications, addresses, etc.
- Prices & Wages by DecadeThis guide from the University of Missouri points to wages and consumer prices reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s. This site is based on freely available historic resources, mostly from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis FRASER® digital library and the HathiTrust Digital Library.
- Historical Documents - Office of the HistorianThe Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
- Legislative History in VirginiaA research guide from the Library of Virginia.
Newspapers
- Virginia ChronicleVirginia Chronicle contains hundreds of thousands of digitized newspaper pages from around the state, published over a 150-year period. There is free access to dozens of titles.