The Rare Books Collection and the College Archives are part of Bortz Library’s Special Collections. These collections are non-circulating and they are housed in the 1st floor Rare Book Vault and the 4th floor College Archive Room, respectively.
The materials in the Rare Books Collection are items which are typically considered rare because of their age, condition, contents, or some combination thereof. Most of the items are searchable in the online catalog. The College Archive contains materials related to Hampden-Sydney College, and may be searched here.
Due to the nature of the materials contained in these collections, the Rare Book Vault and College Archive Room are designated as staff-side only spaces. They are not open to H-SC students, faculty, staff, or to the general public. Patrons and visitors may not browse through the Rare Books Collection or the College Archives. Research with materials from these collections must be conducted in the library, under the supervision of library staff.
Requests to work with any of the Rare Books or College Archive materials will be handled on an individual basis. Making an appointment to work with these collections is highly encouraged. Archival staff may not be able to accommodate walk-in research requests immediately, and due to the nature of the items in our collections, some materials may not be available for viewing.
In order to make an appointment to work with these collections, researchers (including H-SC students, faculty, and staff, as well as the general public) may either submit a Research Request Form or contact Sarah Almond, Archival and Digital Projects Librarian, via email or phone.