|Print Newspapers can be found on the second floor of the library (main floor), near the popular books and children's collections. The most recent issues are available in the newspaper rack on the wall, and additional issues are shelved nearby.
Digital News Resources
The Library of Virginia now offers online access to past issues of the Farmville Herald and Farmville-Leader, dating between 1893 and 2010. The Farmville Herald was established in 1890 as a weekly paper to serve Buckingham, Cumberland, and Prince Edward Counties. In 1934, the Farmville Herald merged with the Farmville-Leader to become the Farmville Herald and Farmer-Leader. In 1957, the paper once again became the Farmville Herald.
In addition to browsing current paper issues of the Farmville Herald in the library building, patrons can use the link below to view digitized versions of the paper (and many others).
|New York Times Site License
Bortz Library offers a site license subscription to the New York Times (NYT) that allows current H-SC students, faculty, and staff unlimited access to the New York Times website for free. To create a free account, click on the link below or visit the library's A-Z Database List.
Please note: when creating a new account, Hampden-Sydney users must access the NYT website through the library's site license link and register with their H-SC email address. After the account has been registered, users may access the New York Times from anywhere, including on the NYT app.
The NYT account will need to be reactivated each year in order to retain access. Users must be on campus to reactivate their account.
To learn more about our New York Times site license subscription, head over to our New York Times libguide!
The complete archive of The New York Times with more than 13 million articles total. The archive is divided into two search sets: 1851–1980 and 1981–present. You must have a current New York Times Site License in order to access certain articles and date ranges. You can obtain a pass using the link for New York Times Site License above. Links to access the TimesMachine and Site License can be also found in the library's A-Z Database List.
Please note: your NYT site license pass will need to be reactivated each year in order to retain access. You will need to be on campus to reactivate your account.
Factiva provides access to the exclusive combination of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, DOW Jones and Reuter's newswires and the Associated Press. Links to Factiva can be found in the library's A-Z Databases List, or click on the link below.
To access the database's news resources, log in to Factiva and you will be taken directly to the Factiva Newsstand (shown to the right). If you are off campus, you will need to log in to this database using your standard H-SC username and password, leaving off the "@hsc.edu" from your username.
|The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a source for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Links to The Chronicle of Higher Education can be found in the library's A-Z Databases List, or click on the link below. From on campus, there is no need to log in. Off-campus users will need to create a free username and password using your Hampden-Sydney email address.
|Bortz Library currently subscribes to a number of popular magazines as part of our current periodicals collections. These magazines can be found on the second floor of the library (the main floor), next to the popular books and newspaper collections. A full list of our magazine titles can be found below.