|The Reference Collection -- encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, handbooks, atlases, and similar materials used within the library -- is located on the second floor. Print and online indexes to periodicals, newspapers, and government documents are available. Please ask for assistance.|
|Periodicals & Newspapers|
The library subscribes to approximately 200 current print periodical titles in many disciplines. In addition, several thousand online periodical titles are included in the library's online catalog. A publication finder is available for searching these full-text e-journals. The most recent issues of magazines, journals, and newspapers are placed on shelves on the lower level of the second floor. Bound periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title on the first floor. Back files of selected newspapers and journals are available on microfilm in the Microformats Collection on the second floor.
Academic Search Complete, Project Muse, JSTOR, and other online resources provide access to full text periodicals.
The titles of all of the Library's periodical and newspaper holdings are included in the online catalog.
To learn more about the library's current newspaper and magazine subscriptions, visit our News & Magazines Guide.
Special Collections at Hampden-Sydney College include manuscripts, books, oral histories, photographs, and other materials. It is the mission of Special Collections to gather together resources that document the diverse culture and history of Hampden-Sydney College, Alumni, and Faculty, as well as that of Prince Edward County and South Central Virginia at large.
The Children's Collection is maintained primarily for community use. It is located on the lower level of the second floor at the end of the current periodicals area. Most, but not all, of the collection is entered into the online catalog.
Government Documents Collection
Documents published by the United States government and by the state of Virginia are located on the fourth floor. Included in this collection are a wide variety of books and pamphlets about government, environment, history, foreign relations, business, population, and many other topics. To find titles in U.S. documents, consult the online Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, or ask for assistance. Useful websites include FDsys, the Government Printing Office Portal, and USA.gov, the U.S. Government's Official Web Portal.
Most microform (microfilm and microfiche) materials are located in storage on the first floor. Assorted periodicals and newspapers, as well as a small collection of government documents, are available in microform. Some film, including The Farmville Herald and Hampden-Sydney Tiger, and a microfilm reader/printer is available on the main floor. Please ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.
Video, Audio, Slide, and Software Collections
An extensive collection of sound recordings (audio compact discs) and DVDs are located on the second floor. Additional resources including VHS tapes, slides, and software, should be requested in the FTC. Resources may be checked out for five days. All media resources are included in the library's online catalog. Limit your search to the location "Fuqua" to eliminate print resources.
Click here to view a list of the library's Online Resource subscriptions. Access to the library's Online Resources is restricted to Hampden-Sydney College Users only.
257 Via Sacra
Report a Problem
Bortz Library is working hard to improve access to library resources and databases both on and off-campus. Please use this form to report any broken links, issues with your account or login, or any other strange behavior you encounter when using our resources or website. Thank you for your patience and patronage!