Contact Us
 Circulation |
(434) 223-7227 |
| Reference |
(434) 223-6302 |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 |
 Email Us |
reference@hsc.edu |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Library Databases
The library's databases are your source for scholarly and academic articles!
Bortz Library subscribes to dozens of academic research databases, covering a wide array of subject matter. These databases provide access to articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Use the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box below to search through all of the library's databases at once, or click on the title of a particular database from the list below to search through just one database. Each database in the list has been included on this guide for its subject coverage and relevance.
Search All Databases
You can also search or browse for articles directly in specific journal and magazine titles in the library's collection. Print, bound periodicals are located on the first floor. Search the Online Catalog or Electronic Journal Finder for titles such as:
- Cold War History, 2000-present
- Journal of Modern History, 1929-2007
- Journal of Cold War Studies, 1999-present
- Diplomatic History, 1993-present
- Foreign Affairs, 1922-present
Subject-Specific Databases
Try searching through the databases below to run a more targeted search for relevant materials!
- World War II, Occupation, and Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949 Archival Records85,000+ archival, primary source, images from the U.S. National Archives. Recommended for History research.
- Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
- Dissertations and Theses Full-TextComprehensive, full-text source for doctoral dissertations and theses.
- JSTORThe complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, and VII, Business I, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, and 19th Century British Pamphlets.
- Military and Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Recommended for Government and Foreign Affairs research.
- Project MuseThe Standard Collection provides access to the full text of over 300 scholarly journals of university presses such as the Johns Hopkins University Press.
- New York Times - TimesMachineThe complete archive of The New York Times with more than 13 million articles total. You must have a current New York Times Site Pass in order to access certain articles and date ranges. You can obtain a pass using the link for New York Times Site License, also found in the A-Z Databases list.
Google Scholar
Not finding what you're looking for?
Search Google Scholar for articles and book citations. (Keep in mind that you will not always be able to link to the full-text article or complete book - but you can use our ILL services to borrow materials from other libraries!)