Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
| Print Newspapers |
| Print Newspapers can be found on the second floor of the library (main floor), near the popular books and children's collections. The most recent issues are available in the newspaper rack on the wall, and additional issues are shelved nearby. |
News Databases
Bortz Library provides access to a number of current and historical newspaper sources through its database subscriptions. If you need help searching through any of these resources, just ask!
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 1000+ national & international newspapers. Also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts. Includes current access to the NY Times.
- New York Times Site License - nytimes.com This link opens in a new window
To activate your account, click on the link above and either log-in to your existing NY Times account or set up a new account using your hsc.edu email. After that, you will be able to access nytimes.com from anywhere, including from the NYT app. Your account will need to be reactivated every year in this way to maintain access.
- New York Times - TimesMachine This link opens in a new windowThe complete archive of The New York Times with more than 13 million articles total. You must have a current New York Times Site Pass in order to access certain articles and date ranges. You can obtain a pass using the link for New York Times Site License, also found in the A-Z Databases list.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
14,000 authoritative sources including the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Recommended for finding news, and Economics and Business research.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of over 100 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated on a daily basis. Recommended for Economics and Business research.
- Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new windowThroughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection contains high-interest videos of historical and cultural importance, dating from before World War I to today.