Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Please note: English translations for many of Galileo's original works are available in The Essential Galileo, which is held in Bortz Library's collections. Additional translations of Galileo's works may also be available in other books held in the library collections.
Below you will find links to additional primary sources that are available for free online.
General Resources
- Galileo's InstrumentsA collection of Galileo's scientific instruments, put forth by the Museo Galileo in Florence, Italy. Browse through images and descriptions of the instruments that Galileo developed and used in his studies.
- The TelescopeBrowse through the Museo Galileo's online collection of Galileo's telescopes.
- Galilean Iconography and RelicsExplore the relics housed in the Museo Galileo, including the middle finger of Galileo's right hand.
- Galileo Portal - Museo GalileoVisit the Galileo Portal for an overview of Galileo's life, his works, laboratory, trial, legacy, and more. The Portal includes videos, images, and textual resources.
- Galileo RoomExplore a collection of primary source objects related to Galileo's studies and works.
Inquisition and First Judgement, 1616
- Letter of Nicholas Schnoberg, Cardinal of CApua, to Nicholas CopernicusProvided by the History Teaching Institute at Ohio State University, an English translation of Cardinal Nicholas Schonberg's letter to Copernicus, in which the cardinal expresses interest in Copernicus' scientific work.
- Nicolaus Copernicus: From the Revolutions of the Heavenly Bodies, 1543Provided by Modern History Sourcebook, an English translation of excerpts from Copernicus' major work, On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Bodies.
- Dedication of the Revolutions of the Heavenly Bodies to Pope Paul IIIProvided by the History Teaching Institute at Ohio State University, an English translation of Copernicus' dedication to Pope Paul III from his major work, On the Revolutions of the Heavenly Bodies.
- Letter to the Grand Duchess Christina of Tuscany, 1615Provided by Modern History Sourcebook, an English translation of Galileo's letter to the Grand Duchess Christina of Tuscany.
- Robert Bellarmine: Letter on Galileo's Theories, 1615Provided by Modern History Sourcebook, an English translation of Cardinal Robert Bellarmine's response to Paolo Foscarini regarding the Copernican system.
An English translation of Francesco Ingoli's 1616 letter disputing the Copernican system is available as an appendix in Setting Aside All Authority: Giovanni Battista Riccioli and the Science Against Copernicus in the Age of Galileo. This text is an ebook in the Bortz Library Collections (you may have to use your HSC login credentials to view this item):
Bust of Galileo Galilei, 1674 - 1677
Marcellini, Carlo
Museo Gallileo, Florence. Museo Galileo Virtual Museum
Accessed 5 February, 2018
Trial and Second Judgement, 1633
- The Crime of Galileo: Indictment and Abjuration of 1633Provided by Modern History Sourcebook, English translations for Galileo's indictment in 1633 and subsequent abjuration.
- Letter from Maria Celeste to Galileo, 1633Available through the Famous Trials website, a copy of a 1633 letter from Galileo's daughter, Maria Celeste, to Galileo regarding his upcoming trial.
- Galileo's DefenseAn English translation of Galileo's 1633 defense.
- Galileo's Daughter: Letters and EssaysEnglish translations of the essays and letters of Maria Celeste, Galileo's eldest daughter. Available through Rice University's Galileo Project.
Copyright Notice
Many of the sources linked above have been provided by the Internet Modern History Sourcebook. Before using these sources, please pay attention to the copyright notice provided by the Modern History Sourcebook, which has been reproduced below:
----
This text is part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook. The Sourcebook is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted texts for introductory level classes in modern European and World history.
Unless otherwise indicated the specific electronic form of the document is copyright. Permission is granted for electronic copying, distribution in print form for educational purposes and personal use. If you do reduplicate the document, indicate the source. No permission is granted for commercial use of the Sourcebook.
© Paul Halsall Aug 1997