Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Library Databases
The library's databases are your source for scholarly and academic articles!
Bortz Library subscribes to dozens of academic research databases, covering a wide array of subject matter. These databases provide access to articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Use the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box below to search through all of the library's databases at once, or click on the title of a particular database from the list below to search through just one database. Each database in the list has been included on this guide for its subject coverage and relevance.
Database Search Tips
Brainstorm Search Terms
Before you begin searching in an online database, try to think of as many search terms as possible. Think of all the different aspects of your research question and try to generate multiple search terms for those aspects. Come up with synonyms and try the different terms in your search.
Use Filters to Refine Your Results
All library databases should have filters (like those shown below) on the search results page that will help you narrow down - or expand - your search results. Some of the most useful filters are:
- Available in Library Collection -- will limit results to just full-text
- Scholarly/ Peer Reviewed -- will limit results to just academic sources
- Publication Date -- limits to only specific date ranges
- Source Type -- limits to specific sources (ebooks, academic journals, videos, etc.)
- Subject -- limits to subjects that are either closely related or subsets of the current keywords
Relevant Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
Please see a Reference Librarian at the desk on the second floor of the library if you have any questions. We'll be happy to provide more individualized research assistance with your chosen topics.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is now a part of the JSTOR collection, and the ARTstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024. ARTstor is digital library of millions of images and media in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching. Recommended for Fine Arts, Western Culture, and Classics research.
- ATLA Religion This link opens in a new windowThe American Theological Library Association's premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Recommended for Religion research.
- Dissertations and Theses Full-Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, full-text source for doctoral dissertations and theses.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I - XV; Business IV; Global Plants; Hebrew Journals; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health; Security Studies; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; Sustainability Collection; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Mathematics and Statistics; and 19th Century British Pamphlets.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Recommended for Government and Foreign Affairs research.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThe Standard Collection provides access to the full text of over 300 scholarly journals of university presses such as the Johns Hopkins University Press.
You can also try searching Google Scholar for articles and book citations. Just remember that Google Scholar will not always be able to link to the full-text of an article or a complete book.