Recommended Databases
The library subscribes to many research databases for finding articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Some of the best resources for this course are databases from EbscoHost - especially Academic Seach Complete. Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database with millions of articles, many full-text, from peer-reviewed and popular publications.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
- New York Times Site License - nytimes.com This link opens in a new window
To activate your account, click on the link above and either log-in to your existing NY Times account or set up a new account using your hsc.edu email. After that, you will be able to access nytimes.com from anywhere, including from the NYT app. Your account will need to be reactivated every year in this way to maintain access.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I - XV; Business IV; Global Plants; Hebrew Journals; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health; Security Studies; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; Sustainability Collection; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Mathematics and Statistics; and 19th Century British Pamphlets.
- New York Times - TimesMachine This link opens in a new windowThe complete archive of The New York Times with more than 13 million articles total. You must have a current New York Times Site Pass in order to access certain articles and date ranges. You can obtain a pass using the link for New York Times Site License, also found in the A-Z Databases list.
