Contact Us
 Circulation |
(434) 223-7227 |
| Reference |
(434) 223-6302 |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 |
 Email Us |
reference@hsc.edu |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Library Databases
The library's databases are your source for scholarly and academic articles!
Bortz Library subscribes to dozens of academic research databases, covering a wide array of subject matter. These databases provide access to articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Use the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box below to search through all of the library's databases at once, or click on the title of a particular database from the list below to search through just one database. Each database in the list has been included on this guide for its subject coverage and relevance.
Article Search
Database Search Tips
To search through all of the library databases at once, head over to the Library Catalog and select the Databases tab on the search results page (see screenshot below). This is where you will find scholarly articles, newspaper articles, book reviews, ebooks, and more.
Brainstorm Search Terms
Before you begin searching in an online database, try to think of as many search terms as possible. Think of all the different aspects of your research question and try to generate multiple search terms for those aspects. Come up with synonyms and try the different terms in your search. NOTE: The list below contains suggested search terms, it is by no means a comprehensive list of potential search terms.
Potential Search Terms:
- Foreign Policy
- U.S. foreign policy
- United States foreign policy
- Foreign relations
- Foreign affairs
- government affairs
- China
- PRC
- People's Republic of China
- South China Sea
- "freedom of navigation"
- Taiwan
- Russia
- cyberwarfare
- cybersecurity
- Crimea
- Ukraine
- Intelligence
- counterintelligence
- military intelligence
Use Filters to Refine Search Results
Look for:
- Full Text: this will limit results to items that you can read right away through our subscriptions
- Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles: limits to scholarly articles
All databases should have filters (like those shown above) on the search results page that will help you narrow down - or expand - your search results.
Best Bets
- Military and Government CollectionDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Recommended for Government and Foreign Affairs research.
- Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
- Factiva14,000 authoritative sources including the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Recommended for finding news, and Economics and Business research.
- CountryWatchProvides critical country-specific intelligence and data including maps, demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. Recommended for Government and Foreign Affairs research.
- CountryWatch Country Profile Video SeriesCountry profile documentary videos review the geography, history, politics and economics of each featured country.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Recommended for finding news, Legal, Economics and Business research.
- Legal CollectionContains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. An authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.