Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
View the Henry and Kay Spalding Map Collection Online
Through a grant opportunity offered by the Council of Independent Colleges, in 2015 Hampden-Sydney College joined the Consortium on Digital Resources for Teaching and Research. Each institution in the Consortium selected a collection to store and share through a networked solution - Shared Shelf. Hampden-Sydney College's first digital collection is the Henry and Kaye Spalding Map Collection, a collection of rare maps of early Virginia dating from 1590 to 1860.
For more information, read the H-SC news release announcing the new Consortium.
Curious about Shared Shelf, from Artstor, a platform for uploading, cataloging, and sharing digital collections?
Historical Virginia Maps and Map Projects Online
- Historical Maps of Virginia - Virginia Tech ImagebaseImagebase is a browsable/searchable database of images and related information (metadata) from Virginia Tech University Libraries.
- Virginia Memory - Library of VirginiaBrowse Maps and Architecture Collections from the Library of Virginia
- Virginia Historical Topographical Maps - University of TexasPerry-Castañeda Library Map Collection. (All maps on this page were published by the U.S. Geological Survey and are in the public domain.)
- Digital Scholarship Lab - University of RichmondExplore innovative digital humanities projects including the Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States.
- Map Collections - University of Virginia Digital CollectionsBrowse several map collections, including the Alan M. Voorhees Map Collection and Fry-Jefferson Maps, Surveys, and Derivatives.
- Historical Maps of Virginia - University of AlabamaAlabama Maps is an ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Alabama.
- Historical Maps - Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia LibrariesNew World, and Colonial America map collections available