Publication Finder Notice: Finding Aids

1. Brainstorm potential search terms before you start your research. You're probably going to enter some search terms that don't retrieve the results you want. Having a bank of search terms will help you recover from these moments quickly!
2. When brainstorming search terms, try to think of different ways to describe the same thing. This will help you cast as wide a net as possible.  
3. Try to think of both broad and narrow search terms. 
4. Use the search filters on the results page to narrow your results. You can narrow by publication date, subject, author and more.
5. Try keyword searching and avoid phrase searching. Keyword searching is a more flexible way of searching. Just remember to keep it simple, start with entering just a word or two rather than entering an entire phrase or question. Here are the results for a keyword search for "mystery and detective stories."

Library Databases

The library's databases are your source for scholarly and academic articles!

Bortz Library subscribes to dozens of academic research databases, covering a wide array of subject matter. These databases provide access to articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. 

Use the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search box below to search through all of the library's databases at once, or click on the title of a particular database from the list below to search through just one database. Each database in the list has been included on this guide for its subject coverage and relevance. 

Search All Databases

Saving & Citing Your Sources

Organizing and documenting your sources throughout the research process will make writing your paper and generating a bibliography much easier! Check out some of the software programs below, all of which are designed to help you cite your sources correctly and keep your sources organized from start to finish. If you have any questions about what plagiarism is and how to avoid it, check out the 'Avoiding Plagiarism' guide from Purdue OWL.