This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z List of Online Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
H-SC Homepage Library Homepage

A-Z List of Online Resources  

An alphabetical list of all of Bortz Library's Online Resources. Search here for databases of articles, e-books, images, and reference sources.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.hsc.edu/atozlist Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the A-Z List of Online Resources

In this guide you will find an alphabetical listing of all of Bortz Library's Online Resource (research database) links. Each database link includes a brief description.

A listing of the databases organized by Subject is also available.

 

Off-Campus Access

The links in this A-Z list of databases are formatted for off-campus access. When accessing resources from off-campus, a pop-up box will appear after clicking on one of the links. Enter your last name and employee or student ID number in the box.

Please contact the Public Services Librarian with any questions or access problems.

Frequently Used Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    A comprehensive, scholarly, multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text journals. Recommended for research in all disciplines.
  • Factiva  
      
    14,000 authoritative sources including the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Recommended for finding news, and Economics and Business research.
  • JSTOR  
      
    The complete backfile of a core of scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. Bortz Library subscribes to the following JSTOR packages: Arts and Sciences I, II, III, V, and VII, Business I, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, and 19th Century British Pamphlets.

Site License Journal or Newspaper Subscriptions

  • The Chronicle of Higher Education
    Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. From on campus there is no need to log-in. Off-campus users will need to create a free username and password using your Hampden-Sydney email address.
  • New York Times Site License - nytimes.com
    To activate your account, click on the link above, while physically on-campus and on the campus network. Log-in to your exisiting NY Times account, or set up a new account using your hsc.edu email. That's it! You will be able to access nytimes.com from anywhere, on or off-campus.
  • Nature: International Weekly Journal of Science
    Site license to Nature, directly from Nature Publishing Group. Coverage 2006 - present.
  • Science Magazine
    Site license to Science Magazine, directly from AAAS. Coverage 1997 - present.
  • Scientific American Site License  
      
    Site license access to Scientific American and Scientific American Mind from Nature.com includes current access plus 4 years of archive access. Recommended for Biology and Psychology research.
  • Scientific American Mind Site License  
      
    Site license access to Scientific American and Scientific American Mind from Nature.com includes current access plus 4 years of archive access. Recommended for Biology and Psychology research.
 

EbscoHost Discovery Service

Bortz Library Search
Limit Your Results

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Shaunna Hunter, Public Services Librarian
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Bortz Library, Room 201
434-223-6193
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip