Contact Us
|
(434) 223-7227 | |
 Reference |
(434) 223-6302 | |
| FTC |
(434) 223-6293 | |
 Email |
reference@hsc.edu | |
 Visit Us |
257 Via Sacra Hampden-Sydney, VA 23943 |
Did You Know...
The University of Virginia Library is a Regional Depository Library, and their government document collections are accessible to HSC students, faculty, and staff via Interlibrary Loan!
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is a database that allows you to visually explore, compare, and analyze all U.S. Census data, including hundreds of thousands of data indicators across 220 years. The database uses interactive maps to compare built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowUse Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
Data and Statistics About the U.S.
The federal agency programs listed below collect, analyze, and disseminate statistical data and information. You can search through these sites to find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population data, and maps. For more information, visit usa.gov/statistics.
Remember, keywords are important when doing a search. Your keywords can help narrow down the search results. For example, instead of trying a search for "education statistics," try something more specific like "campus security statistics" or "graduation rates."
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisThe Bureau of Economic Analysis collects information on economic indicators, national and international trade, accounts, and industry.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsBureau of Justice Statistics reports on justice systems, crime, criminal offenders, and victims of crime.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsBureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the U.S. economy.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsBureau of Transportation Statistics provides data on airline on-time performance, pirates at sea, transportation safety and availability, motorcycle trends, and more.
- Census BureauCensus Bureau is the main source of data about our nation's people and economy.
- DAP Public DashboardDAP Public Dashboard provides a window into how people are interacting with the government online.
- Data.govData.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
- Economic Research ServiceEconomic Research Service informs public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
- Energy Information AdministrationEnergy Information Administration provides data on U.S. use of coal, natural gas, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and more.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterThe Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
- Internal Revenue Service Tax StatisticsInternal Revenue Service Tax Statistics examine tax returns to report on such things as sources of income, exemptions, use of medical savings accounts, migration, and geographic data, tax information on foreign corporations controlled by U.S. parent corporations, exports, international boycotts, and investments and activities in the U.S. by foreign persons.
- National Agricultural Statistical ServiceNational Agricultural Statistical Service researches data on food production and supply, organic sales, chemical use, demographics of U.S. producers, and more. Every five years it conducts the Census of Agriculture that provides agricultural data for every county in the United States.
- National Center for Education StatisticsNational Center for Education Statistics researches education in the United States. It publishes the Digest of Education Statistics, which includes international comparisons of students, and the annual report to Congress, The Condition of Education, which reports the progress of American education.
- National Center for Health StatisticsNational Center for Health Statistics is the principal health statistics agency for improving the health of the American people.
- National Center for Science and Engineering StatisticsNational Center for Science and Engineering Statistics publishes data on the American science and engineering workforce and the progress of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education in the United States.
- Office of Personnel ManagementOffice of Personnel Management provides statistics on the Federal civilian workforce through data sources such as FedScope.
- Social Security Administration Office of Research Evaluation and StatisticsSocial Security Administration Office of Research Evaluation and Statistics offers data on social security program benefits, payments, covered workers, and more.
- USAspending.govUSAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. government. Learn about the size of the federal budget, and how the government spends that money on a national level and around the country.